Epsom’s was the first purpose built Clubhouse in Surrey, completed in 1893, only 4 years after the Club was founded, and remains as an architectural icon to this day, albeit with a number of improvements and extensions. Typical of the recreational trends of ‘gentlemen’ in the Edwardian period, an extension was built to house the snooker table.
The building of the clubhouse was funded by the members, which indicates they must have been people of some substance. J Hatchard-Smith, a celebrated London architect, already engaged by Lord Rosebery on his estate, was the designer. He was paid just one guinea for the privilege.
MAIN LOUNGE AND BAR
The ground floor Main Lounge and Bar is a popular meeting place for some relaxation and refreshment. This comfortable lounge offers guests and visitors a warm friendly service after a round of golf, and is the main social room for club members all of whom benefit from Sky. During the winter months it benefits from a warming fire and in the summer the sunny patio area overlooking the 18th green is perfect for a beer or English tea. Hot and cold food is served on most days, freshly prepared to a very high standard by our Chef.
Located on the ground floor The Committee Room is very popular for business meetings as it provides the ambience of a traditional company boardroom. It will take up to 20 people comfortably, and is often used as a flexible venue for a smaller meeting with buffet food or with the eating taking place in the main lounge.
The 19th is perfect for golfers wanting a quick drink or snack prior to heading out to play or after returning from a round. The dress code in the 19th is more relaxed than in the main lounge although the bar offers the same hot and cold menus and excellent service.
BEAMED DINING ROOM
The upstairs Beamed Dining Room is used for major functions and hosts our regular Sunday lunch servings. With its traditional wooden décor and view over the course and 18th green it adds a degree of timeless quality to any event. The room doubles as a meeting room allowing an audience of up to 80 people to comfortably view presentations, and can seat the same number for eating when using round or angular table formats.
Members and visitors have the use of the snooker facility at the Club. The iconic snooker auditorium was completed in 1913. To enter the room is to take a step back in time. The Victorian Snooker table thought to be nearly 200 years old, the wooden panels that adorn the room, the ancient scoreboard, the pictures of Club Captains spanning a century conjure up an ambience which exudes history. Only the billows of cigar and cigarette smoke, that would surely have immersed the room in the early days, are missing now. Read more »